Archive | 1:17 am

Day 4

4 Aug

It’s a good day!  Up at 10:00 a.m.  I feel like I must be sleeping better and am more rested in the mornings.  I feel a little sore in some muscle groups, but it doesn’t hinder any movement.

I picked up some things in the yard this afternoon before going to the gym.  I felt productive at the gym today.  I pushed myself a little harder, did a few extra reps/sets of some weights and increased the weight amount on a few as well.  I also pushed myself a little extra on the treadmill and made it to 1.15 miles at the 20-minute mark and continued for an additional 10 minutes for a cool-down period at a slower pace.  If I improve a little more each day, it won’t take me 6 weeks to reach the 1.5 mile goal in 20 minutes.  I’ve very excited about this and hope to continue to see these small achievements.  🙂

I splurged on some Chick-Fil-A for dinner (chargrilled chicken sandwich meal, YUM!) but I cut WAY back on the mayonnaise that I used to smother my sandwich and fries in.  I still used 1 packet for my sandwich and mixed 1 packet in with some ketchup for my fries, but it was a step in the right direction.  I also broke away from the water I’ve been drinking all day and had a diet dr pepper with my dinner.  I don’t regret that one bit!   It was good.

I am still self conscious at the gym as I look at myself in the mirrors while walking to the locker room or checking my form on the equipment and I see the nasty fat rolls that my t-shirt cannot hide.  I don’t feel secure enough to do any core exercises on any of the core balls all over the gym, but I have been too lazy to use mine at home–the one that is collecting dust in my storage room right now.

I am also trying to pep talk myself into starting back up with the pilates or even just stretching once or twice per day.  If my muscles are still sore tomorrow, I might venture into the pool area for some low impact walking in there followed by 10-15 minutes in the hot tub……..